. BEFORE YOU BEGIN

Make Sure You Should File Your Bankruptcy In The Eastern District of California

The bankruptcy court is a federal court. The federal court system divides the United States
into judicial districts. Every state has at least one federal judicial district. Many have more.
In California, for example, there are four federal judicial districts. This package contains
information about filing bankruptcy in the Eastern District of California.

As a general rule, you should file your bankruptcy case in the bankruptcy court for the
federal judicial district where you have lived for the greater part of the previous 180 days.
You can also file in the district where your principal place of business or principal assets
have been located for the greatest part of the previous 180 days.

The Eastern District of California covers the 34 counties in northern California indicated
below. If your residence, principal place of business, or principal assets have been located
in one or more of these counties for the necessary period of time, you should file your
bankruptcy in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of California. The specific
county of your residence, principal place of business, or principal assets determines in
which of the Eastern District of California's three divisions your case should be filed.

Sacramento Division: Petitions from Alpine, Amador, Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn,
Lassen, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Shasta,
Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Yolo, and Yuba counties should be filed
in Sacramento.

Modesto Division: Petitions from Calaveras, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne counties should be
filed in Modesto.

Fresno Division: Petitions from Fresno, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, and
Tulare counties should be filed in Fresno.

If your residence, principal place of business or principal assets have NOT been located
in one or more of the counties listed above for the necessary period of time, please refer
to Appendix 1, United States Bankruptcy Courts Within California (Form EDC 2-070), to
determine where your case should be filed and contact the U.S. Bankruptcy Court located
in that district and division for additional information.

Determine the Bankruptcy Code Chapter That Best Suits Your Needs

You have a choice in deciding which chapter of the Bankruptcy Code will best suit your
needs. The decisions whether to file bankruptcy and under which chapter to file depend
on your particular circumstances. In general, chapter 7 liquidation, or “straight bankruptcy,”
is appropriate when you have insufficient income to pay all or most of your debts. If you
have an income or property and can afford to pay all or a substantial portion of your debts,
a chapter 11 reorganization, or the repayment of debt under chapter 12 or chapter 13 may
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be appropriate depending on whether the debtor is an individual, partnership, corporation,
or family farmer.

These are just a few of the factors to consider, however. There is no way that a simple
package like this one can address all the things to be considered. Also, considering you
personal facts, comparing them to the requirements of each chapter and deciding which
chapter to select would require legal advice. The Bankruptcy Clerk’s Office staff and non-
attorney bankruptcy petition preparers*are prohibited by law from giving legal advice.

Only a lawyer can give legal advice. Many lawyers charge a modest amount to help you
and most give a free consultation during which they go over your circumstances and needs
and tell you what you should do and how much it will cost. There are also several “do it
yourself” books that set out the details of each chapter and attempt to explain the
bankruptcy process.

The decision whether to file a bankruptcy and under what chapter is an extremely important
decision and should be made only with competent legal advice from an experienced
bankruptcy attorney after a review of all the relevant facts of your case.

Determine the Appropriate Filing Fee and How You Will Pay It

The current fees for filing petitions under all chapters of the Bankruptcy Code are included
in Appendix 2, Required Documents and Fees (Form EDC 2-035). If you cannot afford to
pay the full fee at the time of filing and you are an individual filing a voluntary petition, you
may ask for permission to pay the fees in up to four installments over a period of one
hundred twenty (120) days. To do so, you must complete the Application to Pay Filing Fee
In Installments (Form EDC 2-020) located in SECTION V, and submit the original and one
copy with your completed petition. If you are granted permission to pay the fee in
installments, you can not make any additional payment or transfer any additional property
to an attorney or any other person for services in connection with your case until the filing
fee has been paid in full. If you fail to pay any installment when due, your case may be
dismissed and you may be denied a discharge of your debts.

If you are filing a chapter 7 petition and you can not afford to pay the fee either in full or in
installments at the time of filing, you may request a waiver of the filing fee by completing
the Debtor’s Application for Waiver of the Chapter 7 Filing Fee or other Fee (Form B3B)
located in SECTION V, and submitting the original and one copy with your completed
chapter 7 petition. A judge will decide whether you have to pay the fee. By law, the judge
may waive the fee only if your income is 150 percent of the official poverty guideline
applicable to your family size and you are unable to pay the fee in installments. The
poverty guidelines are included in Appendix 3.

! Section 110(a) of the Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. §110(a)) defines “bankruptcy petition preparer” as a
person, other than an attorney or an employee of an attorney, who prepares for compensation a petition
or other document for filing by a debtor in a U.S. bankruptcy court or a U.S. district court in connection
with a bankruptcy case. See SECTION Ill, Instructions For Completing Bankruptcy Forms, item 11.
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Filing fee payments can be made in person or mailed to the Bankruptcy Clerk’s Office
where the petition is filed. When making payments, remember that the Clerk’s Office
does not accept personal checks or make change. Cash payments must therefore
equal the amount due. For your protection, do not send cash through the mail. Cashier's
checks, certified checks and money orders payable to Clerk, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, and
written for the amount due or on a Not to Exceed basis will be accepted.

Identify The Forms You Must File

A complete list of the documents you may need to start a bankruptcy case under chapter
7, chapter 11, chapter 12 or chapter 13 of the Bankruptcy Code and the time you have to
file them is set forth in Appendix 2, Required Documents and Fees (Form EDC 2-035).
Together, the documents listed in Appendix 2 are commonly referred to as your
"bankruptcy petition," although technically the petition is only Form B1.

The particular documents required will depend upon the chapter you are filing as well as
your individual circumstances. For example, if you are not represented by an attorney and
did not have any documents prepared by a bankruptcy petition preparer, you will not be
required to file either of the disclosure of compensation forms (Forms B203 and B280), the
Declaration and Signature of Non-Attorney Bankruptcy Petition Preparer (Form B19), or a
Master Address List on diskette. Every individual debtor must file Exhibit D, Individual
Debtor’s Statement of Compliance with Credit Counseling Requirement (Form B1, Exh. D),
but if you are filing a joint petition, you and your spouse must each complete a separate
Exhibit D to file with your petition.

Individual chapter 7, chapter 11, and chapter 13 debtors must all file a Statement of Current
Monthly Income, but the information provided and complexity of the forms (Forms B22A,
B22B, and B22C) varies greatly depending upon chapter. Likewise, only individual debtors
are required to submit a completed Statement of Social Security Number or Individual
Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) (Form B21),? only individual debtors with primarily
consumer debts are required to file a completed Notice to Individual Debtor with Primarily
Consumer Debtsunder 11 U.S.C. 8342 (Form B201), and only individual, chapter 7 debtors
whose schedules of assets and liabilities include consumer debt secured by property of the
estate are required to file a Chapter 7 Individual Debtor’s Statement of Intention (Form B8).
On the other hand, corporate debtors, regardless of chapter, must complete and file a
completed Statement Regarding Ownership of Corporate Debtor/Party (Form EDC 3-500)

Similarly, a List of 20 Largest Unsecured Creditors (Form B4) is required in chapter 11
cases only, and Exhibit A should be completed and attached to the voluntary petition only
if the debtor is filing a chapter 11 case and is required to file periodic reports with the
Securities and Exchange Commission pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities

2 Allindividual debtors, regardless of chapter, are required to submit a Statement of Social Security Number
or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) (Form B21) with their voluntary petition. In joint cases,
information for both spouses must be included on the submitted form.
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Exchange Act of 1934. Finally, Exhibit C should be completed and attached to the
voluntary petition regardless of chapter only if, to the best of the debtor’s knowledge, the
debtor owns or has possession of property that poses or is alleged to pose a threat of
imminent and identifiable harm to the public health or safety.

Some locally required forms are intended for use in specific divisions of the court only. Any
form which contains the name of a specific division, or divisions, in the heading is intended
for use in that division, or those divisions, only.

If you need to start your case quickly, you can file only those documents designated in
Appendix 2 as the “Minimum Documents Required For Incomplete (Skeleton) Filing.” All
additional documents must be filed within the times indicated in Appendix 2. If you file an
incomplete (skeleton) case, your failure to timely file required documents or to seek an
extension of time to do so may result in dismissal of your case, denial of your discharge,
or the imposition of sanctions against you.





